B.S. Entertainments


Professional Wedding DJ…EVERYWHERE!!!

Just had a look at the ol’ blog and realised that I have neglected the poor thing over the last few months.  I’ve worked out that since the turn of the year, I have performed at no less than twenty seven events!  Whoever said that there are less weddings in 2014 because of the World Cup needs to learn how to count, in my opinion.

“So where have you been?” I hear you cry!  Well, here’s a run down of some of the events that I have performed at in 2014!

(FYI, there are some shaky cam pics and videos in this post.  I think I should stick to being a Professional DJ and leave the photography and the videography to the men and women who know what they are doing!)

Brockencote Hall

Now this only happened last week, but it was one that I was rather looking forward to.  I’ve never worked at Brockencote before (and if you’re wondering, it is pronounced ‘Brock-un’ and not ‘Broken’ – glad I double checked that before we got started!), but it’s always great to go to new venues and leave a good impression with the people that work there.  And to say that we left an impression would be an understatement!  Amy, Rob and co filled that dance floor all night long.

The bride and groom love their commercial indie, but were worried that it wouldn’t go down that well.  They told me a story about how a friend of theirs hassled a DJ at a wedding to play Oasis and when he finally did, it cleared the dance floor and that is a shame because they really like Oasis.

“Don’t worry.” said I…with a cheeky grin. 😉

It’s not very often that I get to play Fat Lip, Pretty Fly For A White Guy, Heaven Is A Halfpipe, Teenage Dirtbag, Buck Rogers as well as a whole host of other great tunes but when I do, it’s always worth the wait.

Moxhull Hall

It seems to be a yearly tradition that I end up at Moxhull Hall at some point.  No more than once a year, but every time it is a memorable night.  This year, I was there to be Caroline & Greg’s Professional DJ for their big day and what a storming night it was!  Ready for the fuzzy picture?

Professional lighting that helps Moxhull’s marquee look even more amazing.

Forest Hotel, Dorridge

This lovely venue is where I entertained for Katie, Anthony and all their guests.  They wanted to have a wide mix of music to please all tastes, but also throw in something that they love too – Dubstep and Hard House.  Well, I managed to jam it all in there and it became a night that the lovely couple will never forget.

I know what you’re thinking: PHWOAR! What a great haircut, Benny!

Nailcote Hall

Nailcote has a great marquee to hold the evening entertainment for weddings.  I was here for Donna & Darrell’s wedding and what a great night that was!  Reggae took up a sizeable chunk of the night, but we did manage to spare a few minutes so Donna and Darrell’s daughter can sing Tomorrow from Annie.  I just wish I thought to video it!

The most amazing picture of a first dance that I have ever seen.

Like all couples, Donna and Darrell were nervous but they looked great for their first dance.

As you can no doubt tell, these pictures are not my work and were taken by a pro!  Andy Doherty was kind enough to allow me to use them for this blog and he can photograph your wedding expertly.  Visit his website, or give him a call on 01676 523639.

Hogarth’s Hotel

I have been at Hogarth’s so many times over the last few months that the staff there know that I like a cup of black coffee at around 10:30 in the evening, and they bring it to me without me having to ask.  If I can find a woman that will do that for me, I would be a very happy man!

Louise, James and all their guests having a cracking time!

I did warn you that I’m not a pro at this photography lark!

Boom! The first dance looks stunning!

Always great to see people have a genuinely amazing time!

But of all the weddings that I have worked at Hogarth’s, Sarah and Andy’s will stay in my mind.  Really nice young couple with an amazing group of friends and family who all knew how to have a laugh.  The singing and dancing was great but on top of that, there was a lot of fun banter too.  In fact, so much so, that by the end of the night my voice became rather horse.  I actually started to sound like Mr. T!

At the end of the night, Sara wanted to have Take That’s Never Forget as the final song.  Who am I to say no to a bride on her wedding day?

An honourable mention must go to Vanessa and Tony’s wedding at Ettington Park, where I worked alongside a Band until 3am.  The bride and groom had a dance routine sorted for their first dance, so with the use of professional sound editing software, I was able to slam together eighty seconds of Snow Patrol’s Chasing Cars with Black Eyed Peas’ I Gotta Feeling.  A combination of the editing, the light show we used to accompany it as well as some dodgy dancing made for a great moment for Vanessa and Tony, and one I’m sure they will remember for years to come.  No pics or video for this one, I’m afraid!

If you would like to hire a Professional DJ who travels far and wide to give you an amazing finish to your big day, then click here to hire Benny Smyth (just don’t hire him for the photography or videography!).






Comments are closed.