B.S. Entertainments


Let’s add some perspective to this…
August 3, 2013, 10:00 pm
Filed under: Birthday, Disco, DJ, Random Benny Thought

There’s a question I get asked quite a lot when I get enquiries: I’ve just got a quote from a guy in the Yellow Pages to work my wedding for £90. Can you beat that?

I love that question and I hear it so often, I already know how to reply. I tell them that it depends on what they’re asking. If you’re asking me whether I can beat the level of talent, the quality of the lighting, clarity of the sound and the level of overall service you will receive, then I dare say that I will beat it and rather comfortably too. If you’re asking me if I can beat the price, the answer will be no.

A wise man once told me that when it comes to hiring a DJ, you should use what he called the ‘Buffet Rule’. Let’s say you’re getting married and you’ve hired a DJ to entertain you and your (for argument’s sake) 100 guests. You’d be happy to pay anywhere between £7 – £12 a head for your buffet but if you took advantage of the quote I mentioned at the beginning of this blog, that means your DJ will be charging 90p a head.

Just let that sink in for a second. 90 pence a head. Now think back to all the weddings and events you have been to. Do you remember the buffet? Of course you don’t but I bet that you do remember the DJ – be it for positive or negative reasons.

Just purely out of curiosity, I asked who provided the quote and did a quick Google search. This was a picture from their own website.

Now scroll down and look at the pictures that I have taken of my lighting and sound system in previous blogs. It may very well be egotistical to say, but it certainly brings perspective to things, doesn’t it?

Last month, I was delighted to provide the entertainment for Simone’s 18th birthday party in Minworth. Normally I wouldn’t combine a blog about a gig with what I have already said, but when I sat down with Simone and her dad, Simon for the consultation, Simon told me something that is so apt. He said that he wanted to pay that little bit extra because a few weeks beforehand, the family attended a birthday party and the DJ had awful equipment and was not able read the room.

It was an investment that paid off, and it paid of big. Simone and all her guests had a storming night, they had that dancefloor filled all night and with my mobile nightclub, we made that room look and sound amazing. Happy 18th, Simone! I hope to be there for your 21st. 😉

The lady who made the enquiry that prompted this blog told me that she was going to go with the guy in the Yellow Pages. I hope for her sake that there is a drastic investment in the sound and lighting by the DJ because I would not want to be there at the very moment she walks into the room and is greeted by the above.

Professional DJ, Benny Smyth is available to make your night memorable, and for all the right reasons. Click here to get in touch.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment